New Years Resolutions

It’s not often that I make resolutions at New Year, they either get forgotten after a month, are unrealistic or I know I should stick to them but… Oh well! My brother always manages to stay focused on his, depriving himself of chocolate, cake, crisps and beer for a whole year. I think his success in keeping going with it was down to his rule that he was allowed ten nights ‘off’ during the year, plus his sheer determination! He has inspired me to make a resolution this year. I am not stopping myself from doing something though. My resolution is to spend more time reading and learning about things I am interested in. I spend the majority if my time with my children and even though I love doing that, I think spending a bit of time by myself learning, as well as doing, the things I am intrigued by, will help me to feel more like ‘me’ again, rather than just being ‘a Mum.’ I just hope that I am able to find time, maybe an hour here or there every week, to achieve my aim.

What are your resolutions for 2014? How will you stick to them? Any tips on how I can stick to mine? Do you sometimes feel like you are ‘just a Mum/Dad’. It would be great to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions

  1. Good luck! I think it sounds a great resolution to have. I definitely have things I would like to achieve this year though am not setting resolutions as such as I know I won’t stick to them!

    1. Thank you! I will try my hardest to stick to it. Sometimes I think the word,”resolution,” almost sets me up for failing! I hope you manage to achieve all of your aims this year.

  2. Good luck! And wow on your Brother being so focused, unsure if I could stay of chocolate for a week nevermind a YEAR! Mad man! lol! Anyways, new follower here 😉 Found you from Amy over on In my Bubble xx

    1. Thank you! Chocolate is a necessity, so I could never stay away from it either :-). Thanks for having a look at my blog and following me! I’m just about to have a nosey round yours. Amy’s blog is wonderful! X

Leave a Reply

