Mince pies and monster eyes

The play doh Christmas tree that we all made together.
The play doh Christmas tree that we all made together.

Our Christmas activity morning did not go as planned this week. Both children (and me!) had a great time making a play doh Christmas tree together. It was a lovely, relaxing start to our day.

After, what seemed no time at all, Christmas was deemed boring. My son had done lots of Christmassy things at school and now wanted to do something a bit different. He proceeded to make a monster. Things were fine to start with, he cut out the body and started to make some eyes for it, while my daughter happily pulled apart piece of green play doh into about thirty little bits/’baubles’ for the tree. Lulled into a false sense of security, we were all having fun, some Christmassy, some not so Christmassy, but still a good time was being had by all. That was until my daughter saw the monster eyes that had been made. I could not have anticipated what followed. My daughter started screaming. A lot. Then screamed some more at a much higher pitch! I asked her what was wrong, so she started saying, “Monster eyes, Mummy! Worry.” So, as any normal six year old boy would do at hearing his sister was scared of something, he put the play doh eyes in front of her face. Giggling as he did this. Although I did not think it possible, my daughter managed an even higher pitch of squeal than she had ever produced before, followed by my son also squealing and shouting because he thought it would be funny to join in. This was not the morning I had planned.

Monster eyes!  Aaaggghhh!!
Monster eyes! Aaaggghhh!!

After a little while, it all went quiet as my daughter had covered her eyes with her hands so that the monster wouldn’t get her. Explaining that it was play doh and not a real monster (by this time, the modified play doh eyes were firmly attached to the monster), did not work. With hands still over her eyes and a little boy being told off for winding his sister up, it was decided that the monster should meet his end. When I asked my son to get rid of it, i.e. put the play doh back in the tub, it seems stabbing it with a craft tool was the only option he viewed as being available to him. Covering my own face with my hands, I expected more crying but alas, his stabbing plan had worked. My daughter was satisfied that the monster was now gone.

Bye, bye monster.
Bye, bye monster.

Half an hour passed, in which we put the play doh away and sat down to read a story (not about monsters) to calm down from the trauma. Hoping desperately to salvage some kind of Christmas theme, I announced that mince pie making was next on the agenda. What could go wrong with that? Thankfully, it all went very well. We all stayed calm and absolutely no monsters were present. Phew!

Mince pie making
Mince pie making
More mince pies...
More mince pies…
Yummy mince pies with cakes that we made earlier.
Yummy mince pies with cakes that we made earlier.

How have your Christmas activities been going?  Better than mine I hope!  It would be great to hear your Christmas activity stories.

2 thoughts on “Mince pies and monster eyes

Leave a Reply

